Friday, June 9, 2023
HomeSPORTSWho qualified for World Cup 2023?

Who qualified for World Cup 2023?

- Advertisement -

World Cup

India will host the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup from February 9 through March 26, 2023. Ten teams will participate in the event, which will consist of a round-robin preliminary round, quarterfinals, and a championship game.

The 2023 Cricket World Cup qualification procedure started on April 1, 2018, and it concluded on March 31, 2022. The qualification procedure, which was split into two phases, involved a total of 20 teams.

The Cricket World Cup Super League, which the ICC instituted in 2020 to decide which countries would qualify for the World Cup, made up the first stage. 13 sides made up the Super League, including the Netherlands, who qualified by winning the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship, and the 12 Full Members of the ICC.

Eight series, four at home and four away, each comprising of three matches, were contested by each side. The Super League’s best seven teams automatically qualified for the World Cup, while the Super League’s lowest five teams moved on to the next round of qualifying.

The Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which took place in Zimbabwe from March 6–19, 2022, was the second step of the qualifying procedure. Five Associate countries, who qualified through the 2019–2021 ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, joined the five teams that progressed from the Super League.

Each of the ten teams played four matches in the group stage after being split into two groups of five. The best three teams from each group progressed to the Super Six stage, where they played three matches against the teams from the other group that they hadn’t played in the group stage.

- Advertisement -

The best two teams from the Super Six stage advanced to the World Cup, while the final qualifier was decided by a shootout between the other two teams.

Without further ado, here are the ten groups that have earned a spot in the 2023 Cricket World Cup:

India (Hosts)
S. Africa
In New Zealand
Caribbean West
South Asia
Zimbabwe (Qualified through the playoff)
With 32 points and victories in 15 of the 24 games they played, England won first in the Super League standings. The World Cup champions, India, came in second with 28 points, followed by Australia in third with 26 points.

With a seventh-place result, the West Indies qualified for the World Cup, finishing ahead of South Africa, Pakistan, and New Zealand in fourth, fifth, and sixth place, respectively.

In the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Zimbabwe joined the lowest five sides from the Super League. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh placed first and third in their respective divisions to progress to the Super Six round, but after coming in fourth and fifth place, respectively, in the Super Six round, they were unable to qualify for the World Cup.

Zimbabwe, on the other hand, came in third place in their group but went 3-0 in the Super Six stage to advance to the knockout. They beat Scotland by 34 runs in the playoff to clinch the last World Cup berth.

The ten finest teams in the world will compete for cricket’s top honour in the 2023 Cricket World Cup, which promises to be a fiercely challenging event. Even though the event is still a year away and a lot can happen in that time, cricket fans all over the globe are eagerly awaiting the start of the action.

Read More:

Read More:

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments